About Jabalbina

In late 2007, following a thirteen year process of native title mediation, the Federal Court determined Native Title over Eastern Kuku Yalanji traditional lands in Far North Queensland.

The native title determination included the settlement of 15 ‘Indigenous Land Use Agreements’ (ILUA’s), registered by the National Native Title Tribunal that reflect agreements between various land interests parties in the native title determination area. Subsequent to the determination Eastern Kuku Yalanji people established the Jabalbina Yalanji Aboriginal Corporation (Prescribed Body Corporate) and the Jabalbina Land Trust in 2007 to represent the interests of the native title holders.

The Determination Area covers approximately 144,000 hectares of unallocated state land and timber reserve in Far North Queensland, and includes 62 separate parcels of land, incorporating tropical rain forests, beaches, reefs and mountain ranges between Mossman in the south, the Annan River (south of Cooktown) in the north and the Great Dividing Range to the west. It also includes Eastern Kuku Yalanji communities of Wujal Wujal and Mossman, and the Daintree, Cape Tribulation, Black Mountain and Cedar Bay National Parks. The claimed parcels of land fall within the Wet Tropics Bioregion of international significance due to its outstanding natural and cultural values. The majority of the area is within the Daintree River catchment, and spans a number of other catchments including the Endeavour, Normanby, Mitchell and Mossman Rivers. All parcels of land included in the native title package vary widely in terms of their underlying tenure and consequential land management arrangements.